Desert Basics

photo
I live in southern Nevada on the edge of Sloan Canyon. I currently have seven giant desert hairy scorpions, two giant sand scorpions, two giant dune scorpions, one devil scorpion, two darkling beetles, a large desert wolf spider and a female desert blonde tarantula named Blondie.

My dad and I have been trudging around in the Sloan Canyon area by our house since I was three. We moved into the house in 2005, and from then on we have explored and found more arthropods & reptiles than the average person sees in a lifetime.

I found my first Hadrurus Spadix, or the black desert hairy scorpion, when I was seven. My dad and I were clueless as to what it was. To us it was a moving flash of orange-yellow, and then it stopped, tail seven inches in the air, and I made a move to grab it at the tip of the tail with my forceps. It just jerked out of their grasp. Finally I developed a strategy that I still use today—that is to grab the base of the tail with the forceps instead of the tip, which only works with small scorps. Bigger scorps can jerk the tip of their tail out of the forceps because there is less surface area to hold on to.

Hope you enjoyed my first post I will try to post regularly.

22 thoughts on “Desert Basics

  1. Laura Murphy

    Love your first post!!! So proud of you, but I have to admit that I’d be checking my bed every night for any escapees!!! Way to go, Zach!

    Reply
  2. Ben Jackson

    Hi Zach,
    Cool picture of a scorpion! I’m jealous that I didn’t live near such a cool place when I was your age. Happy arachnid hunting!

    Reply
  3. Tracy Michelson

    Wow, it is so nice to have you and your family near for my desert life/spider capturing needs! You are on your way to great things my friend! today we were out taking pics in the desert and found a med tan colored tarantula. Thought of you!!! Can’t wait to keep reading.

    Reply
  4. Jayne Post

    Hi Zach, I really loved your first post. Maybe it’s because I’m a Post… Get it? Lol I really learned a lot. I am not really able to pronounce the names very well. Can you please write them phonetically for me next time. Eric has a question. Why are you supposed to turn hila monsters ( not sure how you spell that) on their backs after they bite you? I look forwRd to heRing more about all the desert creatures you encounter. Be careful.
    Blessings,
    Jayne Post

    Reply
    1. thatscorpionguy Post author

      That is actually a myth it does absolutely nothing what you should realy do is stay calm and it will reliese it’s vise like bite.The scientific name is pronounced had-rer-us ari-zon-E-zis

      Reply
  5. ina

    I’m so impressed – I TOTALLY would not know how to handle these organisms and would end up stung in 17 ways. Can’t wait to hear more about how you handle studying desert life

    Reply
  6. Sandarah Cornwell

    Very nicely written. I used to live in Nevada. Scorpions scared me back then and still do. I am glad that you are enjoying the wildlife of the desert. You should be proud of your blog. I will keep watching for more. Give your mom a kiss for me. I miss her

    Reply
  7. Jen Reyneri (@jenreyneri)

    Great job, Zack! I’m excited to share this with Makani! Maybe you can swap lizard stories? We’ve got lots of different species here in Florida too:) We have a whip type lizard here. They are SO fast. We catch the anoles all the time. Last year, we had a coach whip snake by our pool. Lots of black racers. Even saw a coral snake.

    Reply
  8. Tony Caniglia

    Congrats on your blog and your first post! This was a great read about your adventures in catching scorpions, and it reminds me of all the times I spent in the desert catching scorpions while I was a kid. Can’t wait for more posts and more pictures! Proud of you!

    Reply
  9. Poetic Bloomings

    “1 devil scorpion, 2 darling beetles” and a partridge in a pear tree? LOL!

    What a fantastic idea you have here, Zach. I read your posts so far, and decided to come back to your first one to leave a comment. Your choice of topic and photos is excellent. Interesting, informative … Keep ’em coming, kiddo!

    Marie Elena Good (a friend of your mom) 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment